The Wind Masters: The Lives of North American Birds of Prey

by Dunne, Pete
The Wind Masters: The Lives of North American Birds of Prey
Processing...

The Wind Masters: The Lives of North American Birds of Prey

by Dunne, Pete

Format: Paperback

Code: 11271

Condition: New

$16.95
Out of Stock

Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we will contact you with a delivery date as soon as possible. If you pay by credit card, it will not be charged until it is shipped.

Product Details

1995 [2003 reprint]. Black and white illustrations by David Allen Sibley. Describes the diets, hunting and courting habits, habitats, status and conservation of 34 species of diurnal raptors.

Even people with little interest in birds will stop in their tracks at the sight of a hawk soaring overhead or a falcon perched on a window ledge. Birds of prey have an aura that few other creatures have. In the acclaimed Hawks in Flight, Pete Dunne showed what birds of prey look like. In The Wind Masters, he shows what it is like to be a bird of prey. He takes us inside the lives and minds of all thirty-four species of diurnal raptors found in North America -- hawks, falcons, eagles, vultures, the osprey, and the harrier -- and shows us how each bird sees the world, hunts its prey, finds and courts its mate, rears its young, grows up, grows old, and dies.

Vividly written, and beautifully illustrated by David Sibley, The Wind Masters is a brilliant work of narrative natural history in the tradition of Peter Matthiessen's The Wind Birds and Barry Lopez's Of Wolves and Men.

ISBN: 0618340726

Publisher: Mariner Books

Year of Publication: 2003

Page Count: 288